02
Dec
08

Social Learning Assessment

In the beginning of this class, my goal was to comment on five blogs a week.  As a person that really likes to read into what others have written I was able to accomplish more than five comments, depending on the week.  When I comment on others blogs I make a connection on what they wrote about, tell a relating story that I had been through, and than maybe make a comment on improvement if I felt it was necessary.

Because I was with a partner for my final project, this made it a bit easier for me to interact with others in different ways.  Joelene and I texted, phoned, emailed, used msn messenger, and met at the university to get in contact for our final project to be completed.  I have left blog comments, emailed, texted and talked to others within this class throughout the semester.  I mostly did reflective comments on others blogs if I found their blog to be well done or interesting.  I would also comment to a person if I saw them and liked one of their blog posts.  If someone left a comment on one of my blogs that asked a question, I would leave a comment on my blog, answering their questions.

Here is are some examples:

1. wow. are you actually a guider pilot? LETS just say wow. that is great. So lucky. Really admirable that you are able to do that. I liked your slide show- I like the comic in the middle with the arrows. Don’t we all just feel like that sometimes. Not really too sure where we are going, if is the right way or wrong. My philosophy is just to say yes.. I am on the right path. Someone once told me that I should never ask if I can do something… if you don’t ask no one can say no.

– Yes I am a glider pilot. Got it through Royal Canadian Air Cadets. One thing people don’t realize is that through cadets you can get paid to get your glider and power license. Of course you have to earn this, and it is a fairly long process, but it is completely worth it in the end.

2. haha oh my gosh! i would have went crazy! i never take buses, except like once in moose jaw, so i doubt i would be able to get the hang of it! how do you normally get home if not on the bus? i would have been freaking out if the bus wasn’t going where i thought it was going haha phoning people and trying to figure out what was up! But i get lost driving… soooo its the same situation haha, like i forget to take exits, or i think i should take that exit then i dont and i wish i did, then cant figure out how to turn around… its usually an adventure!!! were you by yourself? it would have been fun if you were with a friend, i wouldnt freak if i was with a friend haha! You should have just went around talking to random people haha just network your way around regina! haha

– I normally walk home,but its a 25 minute walk, and it was pretty cold and windy outside so I decided I should learn how to take the bus. I was kinda freaking out but I am overall a fairly calm person so that helped me a lot. Yes I was by myself and there was not very many people on the bus. Since it was my first time I sat at the front and everyone else was at the back so I couldn’t really talk to anyone. This morning I took the bus to the university and got on the right one which was awesome. What made it funny though was that the bus driver was the same one as yesterday when I went on my grand adventure.

3. I have commented on many peoples blogs.  I feel as if I have made my comments meaningful and relevant, as well as giving my own insight.  The only thing I feel I could have improved on was asking more questions in my comments to make the person I was commenting on think and reflect upon their post.  I have even had a big discussion with a lady about tattoos and teachers.  This was a deep and meaningful conversation that broadened my view of what others see and think about tattoos on teachers.

Learning from others was a major point within this class.  I really enjoyed getting comments from others, because it made me see other peoples points of view and I would also learn something new.  By reading other peoples blogs it also would shine light on a new perspective and teach me something new.

Some of my favorite comments I have received that I felt helped me learn were:

1.  You definitely have some great points. I agree that the more negative someone is told the more likely they are to fail (basically). In your future class how do you think you will be able (or will you be able) to make sure something like this doesn’t happen? Obviously we can’t always tell a student (or anyone for that matter) that they are doing great when really they need some constructive criticism. But, again… how can we differentiate between constructive criticism and negative feedback, because really to a student, they tend to sound like the same thing?

– This comment made me reflect upon my blog post, which in turn made me learn.  It also made me think about what being a teacher will really be like.  Knowing that I have the power as a teacher to brighten up a students day or crush their spirits really moved me.  It was something I had never thought of before.

2. I would dispute the assertion that technology is a fad – it’s a tool, like books and paper, and chalk and slate before it. It is the path by which we reach a goal, not a goal in and of itself. With that in mind, it doesn’t matter which tool you use (though there are compelling arguments in favor of technology over chalk and slates), because they will always be changing and improving. The important part is what you’re using them for.

– I found this to be a very interesting comment.  I had never thought of technology in this way before.  At one time everything is new and scary to everyone, but once we get used to it, it will seem normal to everyone.  After this post I realized that I shouldn’t look at technology as something scary, but should embrace it as a tool that will help me to teach students in a different way.

3. Technology is not a fad-it is here to stay. In fact, it is so embedded in our culture, particularly the youth subculture, that it is not a factor that impacts youth, it is now determining and defining the culture. Parents and teachers have the responsibility to keep pace with the technology as it changes, as well as incorporate it in their families/classrooms. This is how we can keep youth connected to the family and learning. I discuss these issues at great length in my new book, “Generation Text: Raising Well Adjusted Kids In An Age Of Instant Everything.” As a clinical psychologist, I am concerned about how kids are growing up. Parents and teachers have the opportunity to transform Generation Text into Generation Best if they adopt the technology and use it beneficially, instead of fighting it.

-This post blew my mind.  I never realized how many people are actually trying to fight technology instead of adapting to it and using it to their advantage.  Technology is actually part of our culture, and their are so many people that still do not understand how to use it.  I feel as if I know nothing, but this post made me realize how important it is going to be for me as a teacher to keep up with technology and help me and my students keep up with the change of technology.

4. I read this book as well. I thought it was really interesting and valid. It is true. Right now I am pre interning at an elementary school. The classroom is not the homey’s classroom I have seen but it is nice. I remember back to my classroom’s in high school and I to found it quite sad. Many were empty rooms with desks, a few enthusiastic posters, and a chalk board. Learning needs stimulus.

– this post is what made me think about how sad a lot of high school classrooms really are.  After reading this post I decided to myself that I would never teach in a cold harsh classroom.  It made me think about how classrooms really do need stimulus, and that we do that by interaction and constantly changing the pace of the classroom.  My goal is to make my homeroom a wonderful place to be.

Here is a great quote that I completely love that I feel relates to social learning.

Live as if your were to die tomorrow. Learn as if you were to live forever. – Gandhi

I would give myself a 12.5 out of 15 on social learning.  I feel as if I could have commented on more blogs that I did.


0 Responses to “Social Learning Assessment”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment


Delicious Account

December 2008
M T W T F S S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Pages

Flickr Photos